Welcome To The Fourth Edition of the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers

The LVMH Group is pleased to launch the fourth edition of the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers.

Following a 2016 edition that saw the Anglo-Jamaican designer Grace Wales Bonner take home the top prize and a special prize awarded to the Canadian designer Vejas Kruszewski — two winners who emerged from over a thousand candidates from around the world — the LVMH Group is pleased to launch the fourth edition of the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers.

The jury for the 2017 edition welcomes a new member with the arrival of Maria Grazia Chiuri, who was named Artistic Director of Dior in July 2016. The panel is composed of 12 people, including nine artistic directors from the LVMH Group: Jonathan Anderson (Loewe), Maria Grazia Chiuri (Dior), Nicolas Ghesquière (Louis Vuitton), Marc Jacobs (Marc Jacobs), Karl Lagerfeld (Fendi), Humberto Leon and Carol Lim (Kenzo), Phoebe Philo (Céline), and Riccardo Tisci (Givenchy). Delphine Arnault (Executive Vice President of Louis Vuitton), Jean-Paul Claverie (advisor to Bernard Arnault and Director of Patronage at LVMH) and Pierre-Yves Roussel (Chairman and CEO of the LVMH Fashion Group) complete the panel.

Seven new personalities have also joined the international selection committee: Hidetoshi Nakata, (Football and Fashion Icon), Michel Gaubert (Sound Designer), Ikram Goldman (Founder and CEO of ikram), Dennis Freedman (Barneys New York Creative Director), Derek Blasberg (Journalist), Anne- Florence Schmitt (Editor of Madame Figaro) and Frédéric Bodenes (Art Director of Le Bon Marché Rive Gauche). 

The committee of experts selects the eight LVMH Prize finalists. It is composed of 40 world-renowned fashion professionals, photographers, buyers, journalists, stylists and models such as Carine Roitfeld, Suzy Menkes, Linda Fargo, Karlie Kloss, Angelica Cheung and Sarah Mower. 

Delphine Arnault said: "With this fourth edition of the LVMH Prize, the Group is pleased to be able to count on the loyalty of so many professionals and exceptional artistic directors in supporting young designers. As the industry leader, it is the LVMH Group's responsibility to spot tomorrow's talents and offer them the means to grow." 

Endowed with a 300,000-euro grant, the LVMH Prize offers the winning designer a yearlong mentorship with personalized coaching in business development by a dedicated, in-house team. The mentorship is effective for twelve consecutive months from the date of the awards ceremony and includes support in all the areas of expertise that can benefit a young fashion brand (intellectual property, sourcing, production and distribution, image and communication, marketing, etc.). 

In addition, the LVMH Prize recognizes three young fashion school graduates, who receive the opportunity to join the creative team at one of the Group’s Maisons for a period of one year and a grant of 10,000 euros each. 

The LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers is open to designers aged 40 and under who have produced and sold at least two women’s or men’s ready-to-wear collections. Applications are now welcome and may be submitted only through the LVMH Prize website, www.lvmhprize.com, until February 5, 2017.